Struggling To Run

My doctor suggested I go on a low carbohydrate diet to lower my insanely high triglycerides. I consulted with a nutritionist and she suggested I try to consume between 1,800 to 2,000 calories a day. This would allow for moderate weight loss. My doctor also said I should lose 25 pounds. (So far, I’ve only managed to lose 5 pounds in two years.) Honestly, I was perfectly happy with my fat Green Girl body before she bursted my bubble.

Based on the recommendations from my doctor and nutritionist, I calculated the following ranges. I’m supposed to eat at least 1,800 calories a day but I started the range at 1,600 because I find it hard to eat more than 1,800.

% From To
1600 Calorie Diet 1800 Calorie Diet
Calories grams calories grams
Carbohydrates 45 720 180 810 202.5
Fat 30 480 53.33 540 60
Protein 25 400 100 450 112.5

To calculate the carbohydrates, fat, and protein, each gram of fat contains 9 calories and each gram of carbohydrates and proteins contain 4 calories.

Truth be told, I had a really hard time following this diet plan when I was marathon training. When my long run mileage hit 10+ miles, my appetite became ravenous. I also craved sweets so I indulged myself in way more fruits that I should have.

Now that I’m starting a new training program, my mileage is starting off low so I’m trying to keep my carbohydrates to 45%. The only problem is that I seem to run out of energy really quickly. I went running today and struggled to complete 5.2 miles before I had to break down and eat a grapefruit because my body was craving sweets so badly.

I’ve talked to other people who do low carbohydrate diets and they said they actually have more energy but this doesn’t seem to be the case for me. I’m going to have to work on this. Perhaps if I consume the bulk of my carbohydrates right before my run it will help.

6 Comments »

  1. Johnny said

    Good luck with the low carb diet

  2. prometheuscometh said

    Hi! Did you tell your doctor that you were training? Maybe the diet should apply only on your rest days because you are burning off calories anyway during your run.

  3. lil 1/2 pint said

    I did! I also told her I felt like I was going to pass out the first time I tried to do this. I was so tired that I would have to take periodic breaks in my kickboxing class and bend over and rest on my gloves.

    She said it’s just my body trying to get used to the change and that once I stick it out I’ll be fine.

    I’ll try to stick to it this time but last time I gave in because I was so hungry and I felt like I needed the energy for my long runs.

  4. labadger said

    I look forward to hearing how this goes for you. For many athletes, endurance training is hard without lots of carbs / carbo loading. I hope it goes well for you and you can inspire some of us to try it as well. (I ate an ENTIRE bag of black licorice Friday… sweet tooth got to me. UGH!) Good luck!

  5. lil 1/2 pint said

    Thanks, girl. I’ll definitely keep you posted on my progress.

    Last night I “saved” my pomegranate for my after-dinner snack and I think I’ll try to that that more in the future. It was a nice treat to have something sweet in the evening and I think the sugar helped me this morning in my boot camp class.

  6. […] Tuesday 20.01.09 at 13:06 · Filed under Uncategorized ·Tagged "optimum nutrition" "100% whey gold standard" "protein powder", blenderbottle The Green Girl struggles to keep her calorie count high but her carbohydrates low. […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

