Welcome To The Green Girl’s Running Journey

I’m one of those people who always hated running. The mile we were forced to run in P.E. always seemed like torture to me. I couldn’t understand why anyone would want to run.

I probably would have successfully avoided running for the rest of my life had I not decided to put a line item for “Run a 5k” on my 100 things for 2007.

In March of 2007, I came across the Cool Running Couch-To-5k Running Plan. That program changed my entire life. I went from a Green Girl who had never run more than a mile in her entire life to a girl who joined Team In Training and completed her very first marathon this past summer. I crossed the finish line in 07:31:03. Yes, I was terrified I was going to get scooped up by the truck.

I’m the girl who is always lagging behind “the group”. I’m the one who is just starting out when others are already heading back to the starting line. I’m slow but I’m steady.

My goal is to one day be able to maintain a 10 minute mile. Here is my journey.

5 Comments »

  1. Angela G. said

    -So interesting to find your blog tonight. Just today I found the Cool Running Couch-To-5k Running Plan. I’m very excited about the plan, and tomorrow will set out to buy my official RUNNING SHOES! I’ve never been much into running, and my challenge will be tougher than for most I think. I’m a flat-foot you see; yes, collapsed arches since birth. Totally flat imprint in the sand- like a duck foot!

    So, I’m gonna start out with some decent running shoes with great arches. If I experience too much strange pain, I’ll go to an orthotic shop to see about inserts…hoping I won’t have to do that though- I’ve tried OTC inserts, and they my shoes never fit right anymore with those. I don’t know if I’m ready to replace all my shoes with new sizes to allow for orthotics.

    Anyway, I’m grateful to have found your page, and I’ll be checking in to follow you on your journey…..you’re a year ahead of me so expect to advise me now and again!

  2. lil 1/2 pint said

    Welcome to my blog, Angela! It’s great to meet another soon-to-be runner. ::smiles::

    I’ve got very flat feet, too. My arches pretty much collapse completely when I put weight on my feet. My feet are also very small and wide. In running shoes, I wear a women’s 6.5 wide.

    I’m so glad to see you are going to get fitted for some proper running shoes. I started out with New Balance 857’s and then got 858’s. They are both stability shoes. I also can’t go without my Green Superfeet insoles. I did the custom orthotics and it just didn’t work for me.

    Shoes are such an individual thing. Make sure you really take your time and find the right pair for you. Keep in mind you want lots of room in the toe bed because your feet are going to swell when you run. If you can comfortably wiggle your toes around, that’s a good thing. I also lace my shoes loosely – if I tie them too tight as my feet start to swell it becomes painful.

  3. prometheuscometh said

    You have come very far on this journey already even finishing a marathon too! Don’t worry about lagging behind because at some point in our life we experience that and the important thing is to keep on going! Keep on running and writing!

  4. lil 1/2 pint said

    Thank you, Prometheuscometh. ::smiles::

  5. Billy said

    Hey – thanks for the comment! Yeah, she was every bit as cool as you’d expect her to be. Saw her again this morning about to take out the 4:00 marathoners!

    Race report is up on my site.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

